hosttalent.blogg.se

Jerry superta from small wonder show
Jerry superta from small wonder show















Put them skin-side down in a 3-quart nonstick saucepan and set over medium heat. Salt and pepper the chicken thighs on both sides. But be sure to taste it – if it’s only mildly chocolaty, you may want to stir in ½ teaspoon of unsweetened cocoa after adding the tomato paste and tahini.Ĥ bone-in, skin-on chicken thighs, patted dryĢ tablespoons chili powder (I use medium-hot)ġ cup whole milk (unsweetened oat or almond milk would also work well)ġ jalapeño chile, stemmed, and cut lengthwise in quarters (use 2 if you like it really spicy) If you happen to have chocolate milk at home, you can use it in place of the milk, cocoa, and sugar. Four chicken thighs fit comfortably in a 3-quart nonstick saucepan, but if you’re making more, use a nonstick high-sided skillet with a lid. You’re not going to want to waste any of it. Serve it with rice or any grain you like – just make enough to soak up all the sauce.

jerry superta from small wonder show

It’s still easy and you’ll have a rich, tasty dish ready in less than an hour. My husband Cy tells me it’s even better than the original. Browning the skin-on chicken thighs also renders some fat, which can be used to bloom the chili powder, as well as the tahini and tomato paste.įinally, it occurred to me that I didn’t need to mix up chocolate milk from unsweetened cocoa, sugar, and milk to add to the pot – I could add the cocoa powder in after the chili powder, tahini, and tomato paste, then stir in the milk, and then add the sugar. The Post’s recipe doesn’t call for it, but it’s simple enough to do in a non-stick pan without adding any oil. The second thing I thought of was browning the chicken, because it would add a lot of flavor. I thought that substituting tahini or walnut butter and tomato paste could work – and these days, people seem to have them around if they’re making Ottolenghi’s recipes. There were two ingredients common to most of the recipes I looked at: ground sesame seeds and tomato. So I decided to look at more-or-less authentic mole recipes and see what I could add to this one and still keep it simple. It was delicious! The recipe notes took pains to state that this isn’t mole, one of the long-simmered, many-ingredient Mexican sauces that sometimes contain chocolate.

#Jerry superta from small wonder show how to#

The Post’s version was super-simple, and once I looked up how to make my own chocolate milk, I was good to go. This particular recipe is my version of one I first tried after seeing it in the Washington Post food section because it sounded so bizarre: Spicy Chocolate Milk-Simmered Chicken.

jerry superta from small wonder show

But I’ve been reading and trying plenty of new things, too. There have been lots of old favorites, mostly comfort-food recipes. Like many of you, I’ve been cooking a lot during these past 2+ months. I’m calling it Manageable Mole, and it’s super-easy. I couldn’t believe you could get something this rich simmering chicken thighs in chocolate milk with some chili powder and a few other ingredients.















Jerry superta from small wonder show